X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • shownuff!
    • Sep 10, 2007

Looking for AFA answers

Hi all,

I am new to collecting and was hoping you could share your experiences with AFA grading.

I have gotten a few figures MOC and was wondering if I should send them to AFA.

Pros and Cons are needed. Costs?

I would think that every collector with a MOC would want there special treasures sealed for protection, right?

Does AFA provide the enclosure or do I purchase one and send it in along with the figure?

Thanks for your answers!
  • toys2cool
    Ultimate Mego Warrior
    • Nov 27, 2006

It's like $30-$40 a figure,I say it's worth it if it's a really rare figure or something in almost perfect condition,as collectors pay top dollar for those,what kind of figure where you thinking of grading?
    "Time to nut up or shut up" -Tallahassee

http://ultimatewarriorcollection.webs.com/
    My stuff on facebook Incompatible Browser | Facebook

Comment

• Megospidey
      Museum Webslinger
      • Jul 26, 2006

People here do not view carded or boxed figures the same as comic books or baseball cards. Paper items need to be sealed; toys do not.

Why grade them and seal them permanently when you can buy acrylic holders that you can open from time to time, take them out, and actually hold them? Besides, graders (of anything collectible) cannot be totally objective - they are humans and humans make mistakes.

You will probably find that most here feel the same as starbuk - LET THOSE TOYS BE FREE!!!

Comment

• RG
        Removed.
        • Oct 1, 2004

IMO AFA is a pure con nothing more! They slap a grade on a figure and call it a day. I've seen AFA 90's that should have been 80's, and 80's that should have been 95's. I haven't seen much in Megos that have been graded by AFA, but I've seem my fair share of their grades on vintage Star Wars, GI Joe etc.