• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Afaninfull
    Museum Super Collector
    • Nov 23, 2010

Painting resin heads

Hi everyone,

I could really use some expert advice. I just got some great costumes from Brian L. and some unpainted resin heads. Some people recommended Games Workshop paint and so I thought I would try my hand at painting. Here is my question as I have never done this before...

Can I begin painting directly on a resin head or do I need to paint a primer coat first?

Many thanks for any advice you can give me.
  • ussapache
    • Feb 26, 2010

Hey Mate

I paint alot of resin heads and I just give them a wash in warm soapy water to get rid of the residue. Once their washed they should be good to go if not just spray them with matt white.

As for paints I use Reaper paints for my flesh tones and they work a treat on any scale.

Ron

Comment

• Afaninfull
      Museum Super Collector
      • Nov 23, 2010

Hi Ron,

Thanks for your advice. I'm hoping to get out tomorrow and get some paint and brushes and get started. Of course, that's if the wife will let me...

Tim

Comment

• Megospidey
        Museum Webslinger
        • Jul 26, 2006

As long as the heads are clean, you don't need a primer. It will take several coats of paint though, depending upon which brand you use.

Comment

• ctc
          Fear the monkeybat!
          • Aug 16, 2001

Hmmmm....