• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • darklord1967
    Persistent Member
    • Mar 27, 2008

Classic Batman & Robin Costumes for a High School Stage Play

Greetings gang!

As many of you know, my name's Roberto, and I work as a High School Performing Arts instructor here in New York City.

I wanted to share some costumes and other production material that I designed and put together for a stage play that I am working to produce and direct with several of my student actors.

The play is titled "FATHERS OF THE DARK KNIGHT" and it is the story of the creation of The Batman mythology. It explores the relationship between artist Bob Kane and writer Bill Finger throughout the history of their prolific creation.

We will witness their brilliant Gotham City characters come to life on stage right along with them as their artistic inspiration grows.

I hope you enjoy this glimpse into our production...
    Last edited by darklord1967; Dec 2, '14, 12:39 AM.
    I... am an action figure customizer
  • darklord1967
    Persistent Member
    • Mar 27, 2008

COSTUME DESIGN

My personal preference for the costume designs of Bat-characters leaned strongly toward the so-called classic “Bronze Age” of DC Comics (published between the early 1970’s through the early 1990’s.)

But as I already knew, there would still be a lot of room for personal interpretation of the costuming details once I got started on design and construction.

Comment

• darklord1967
      Persistent Member
      • Mar 27, 2008

THE BATMAN

Clearly, The Batman’s costume was going to be a very important aspect of this play. It had to immediately feel real, legitimate, and it had to illicit the proper mood when first glimpsed by the audience. It was going to need to accept stage lighting well, while not coming off as a cheap, garish Halloween costume. The costume’s textures were going to require special attention so that it would feel rich, elegant and organic.