• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • KingKickass1983
    Career Member
    • Jan 19, 2019

When does it stop counting as a Mego?

So, I'm curious.

I'm fairly new to Mego and mego customizing. And have been looking through all the great customs here for inspiration.

I've seen folks utilizing parts and bodies from other toy lines other then Mego parts.

My question, When does it stop being a Mego? Or is Mego just a general term we use to describe 8 inch tall figures with soft goods costumes?
    Wanted:

Diamond select Spider-man hands. Long shot, I know...but ya never know..
  • Nostalgiabuff
    Muddling through
    • Oct 4, 2008

Mego is only product made by Mego. otherwise it can be Mego-like

Comment

• Confessional
      Maker & Whatnot
      • Aug 8, 2012

Custom Mego as a term and idea seems reasonable and well understood here… making things never made, re-envisioning of characters, stylized design, maker techniques, new materials and technologies. At it's core, it's toy-making with the inspiration and influence of Mego as a brand.

Some folks go for a perceived purity in parts/design, some push concepts into the modern era, and all sorts of hybrids make for interesting builds. I don't think anyone is too judgemental otherwise, rather creativity and the fun of it all is celebrated.

Comment

• imlaughing2death
        • Jul 20, 2020

The Mego of Theseus: If you replace every part of a Mego with a different piece, is it still a Mego?

Comment

• PNGwynne
          Master of Fowl Play
          • Jun 5, 2008

Not if you mix vintage and repro--IMO. But with customs, anything goes--be creative!!