X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MegoSteve
    Superman's Pal
    • Jun 17, 2005

Just when I thought I was out, they pulled me back in

I was excited about the re-emergence of Mego as a company and being able to see them at Target, but for the most part I've stayed out of buying many of them. As a designer, I am super picky and as a modern day collector, I'm spoiled with choices. Not many in those early waves really floated my boat; not going to criticize or anything because I don't want to yuck anyone else's yum. I'm also in that stage in life where I look at all the accumulated stuff around me and think it's time to cut down.

However, these past few Mego waves have had some real knockouts and it's tough for me to resist them. I am very, very impressed by the improvements that have been made in sculpting in particular. They deserve all the credit here... persisting in the face of early criticism and lining up some great licenses, including DC superheroes (!!!). Man, I remember back in the early days of the Levy list how we all clamored when someone was selling a custom Flash costume that was incomplete (no head, no boots) for the low price of $50. In 1995 dollars, that's $86.90. Now you can buy one off the shelf (if you can find it) or online for $16.99.

Not to mention... Rocketeer?! A real Rocketeer Mego!

We're living in a golden age, toy nerds. Appreciate it.
  • EMCE Hammer
    Moderation Engineer
    • Aug 14, 2003

Oh stop being positive and reasonable Steve - there's no room for that in this hobby!

Comment

• The Bat
      Batman Fanatic
      • Jul 14, 2002

It's so true, what a change from the early days. I don't buy every new Mego that comes out...but the beauty of it is, there are SO MANY new Mego's that I actually get to be picky about it. Good times...

Looks like Steve's positivity is catching.
      sigpic

Comment

• rykerw1701
        Persistent Member
        • Aug 27, 2007

Originally posted by MegoSteve