Help support the Mego Museum
Help support the Mego Museum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Little cheesy music video I was a part off...

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Hector
    el Hombre de Acero
    • May 19, 2003

Little cheesy music video I was a part off...

I was actually the executive producer...as I spent the most money on it...renting the equipment (school provided video cameras, but we rented 16mm cameras instead), getting permits to film at the Palace of the Legion of Honor building in San Francisco. Working our insurance policies. Buying expensive film. Getting food/drinks for everyone, etc.

This was made way back in 1988. It was part of a San Francisco State video production class (where I was a student).

Then after...we submitted it to MTV’s Basement Tape Series...we came in third.

Ray Cepeda, the dude featured more prominently in the music video posted it on YouTube.

Two semi-famous musicians were in that short-lived band, Santana Percussionist Jose "Chepito" Areas and Atma Anur on Drums, who is known as a solid session drummer for bands as big as Journey. Those two were talented, the rest of the band were fellow college classmates.

Subpar simplistic music, cheesy, dumb, etc. but keep in mind, for 1988, it was not a bad student project.

But anyway, here’s the little video...Dakota Son Love on the Line...

Last edited by Hector; Apr 5, '20, 3:00 PM.
    sigpic
  • Wee67
    Museum Correspondent
    • Apr 2, 2002

This is an excellent student product!! You could put it up against a lot of similar videos of the late 80's. I'm not a fan of the song, but the production values are impressive and the direction choices are on par for the time. Well done.

I used to help shoot videos for friends' bands back in the late 80's and few had this production level. It was mostly post-punk type bands so the videos reflected that rougher, DIY aesthetic. Too often, we broke into a then-closed prison in Philadelphia.