X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • phil
    Persistent Member
    • May 11, 2007

Tutorials For Head Shrinking

Are there any step by step tutorials on how to shrink heads? I have a few Playmates Trek heads I'd like to shrink to MEGO size. I am looking for some very easy to follow directions because I have never done it before and my memory and concentration isn't what it should be.
  • LonnieFisher
    Eloquent Member
    • Jan 19, 2008

Acetone and Naphtha are two chemicals used to shrink heads. I have shrunk Playmates heads with acetone. You just soak the head in a sealed jar of acetone and it will absorb it and swell up. Then you remove and let the chemical evaporate out of the vinyl, and it shrinks. Soak time depends on the actual individual head. I've never used the naphtha to do it, but others here have and could probably instruct you.

Comment

• phil
      Persistent Member
      • May 11, 2007

Thanks for the response. After the head swells and then shrinks is it then MEGO size or do you have to soak it more than once?

Comment

• EMCE Hammer
        Moderation Engineer
        • Aug 14, 2003

Originally posted by phil
        Thanks for the response. After the head swells and then shrinks is it then MEGO size or do you have to soak it more than once?
        It isn't an exact science unfortunately. I have stopped using acetone and have switched to Naptha because it doesn't remove paint like Acetone, and in general it seems a little less caustic. I'm still learning Naptha, but in general soaking the Playmates head a week, and then letting it dry out a couple of days is what works for me. Sometimes it takes more than one soak. When drying a head turn it upside down so the inside can breathe better.

Comment

• phil
          Persistent Member
          • May 11, 2007

Originally posted by EMCE Hammer