Help support the Mego Museum
Help support the Mego Museum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Novice questions about altering a "Thor" or viking helmet and other custom matters

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MRP
    Persistent Member
    • Jul 19, 2016

Novice questions about altering a "Thor" or viking helmet and other custom matters

Ok, so I am pretty much a complete novice when it comes to customizing figures. It's something I've wanted to try but have never taken the plunge before. One of the custom projects I have wanted to do is to create customs of the Heroes of the Lance from Dragonlance, a D&D campaign setting and series of novels (and a pretty poor animated feature).

One of the first I want to try to do is a warrior named Caramon. He has a pretty distinctive helmet as seen in the picture below. (he's the figure on the left)

In basic shape and form, his helmet resembles the viking helmet (a.k.a. Thor helmet) I see available at Dr. Mego repros, but instead of avian (feathered) wings, it has more reptilian/dragon style wings) and I was wondering of there was a way to modify the wings on the Viking helmet to make them look more like dragon wings to use for this custom.

The mage on the right is Caramon's twin brother Raistlin, and I hope to use the Puritan (Solomon Kane) head for Raistlin and the Barbarian King (Kull) head from CVTV site (with a yellow body for Raistlin to emulate his golden skin, I just need to figure out how to paint/tint the Purtian head gold and get the hair white (questions for a later time as I plan on doing Caramon first).

the only thing close to a Mego custom I have found for the Dragonlance characters was this version of Raistlin (and the Kender Tasslehoff) from later in Raistlin's life when he switched to black robes)

done using the Toy Biz 12 inch LOTR Aragorn figure as a base found here: http://www.toymania.com/customcorner...nlance_r.shtml