Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MegoNuts4Megos
    • Mar 21, 2018

Our Gang Buckwheat Straw Hat? Whaaaat?

Reaching out to all our Little Rascals, Our Gang fans.

I'm pretty new to the Our Gang Mego line up so not sure on a few things, like how long did it run for? I'm assuming that it ran long enough to have had the change to the quality of the head material as some seem to discolor dramatically and other do not. Does anyone have any more general information on this line up?

The biggest question I have right now is around a straw hat for Buckwheat. Up until very recently, I have only seen carded figures of Buckwheat that have only the figure with his standard clothes. However, I came across a Buckwheat that happens to have a Straw Hat included in the bubble. My assumption is that this is a "first edition" version and the Straw Hat was removed later when the line didn't do as well as hoped.

Anyone have any thoughts as to how rare this would be? Or not? I'm working with the gentleman who is selling this to come up with a fair price for this piece.

Here's some pics.

• palitoy
    live. laugh. lisa needs braces
    • Jun 16, 2001

Although he's depicted on the art as having a hat, Mego never alludes to it on any sales materials including the Toy Fair 1976 catalog. So, I'm fairly skeptical as to it being a thing.
    Places to find PlaidStallions online: https://linktr.ee/Plaidstallions

Buy Toy-Ventures Magazine here:
    http://www.plaidstallions.com/reboot/shop

Comment

• MegoNuts4Megos
      • Mar 21, 2018

I do see that there's a crack on the bubble. You think someone shoved one in there? It looks pretty big in the picture compared to his head. I'd love to see if it fits him. LOL. I hadn't noticed that the card illustration has a hat too. I wonder if someone wanted a hat, found one and put it in the bubble. Interesting.

Thanks Palitoy!

Comment

• PNGwynne
        Master of Fowl Play
        • Jun 5, 2008