• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mr.Marion
    Permanent Member
    • Sep 15, 2014

Anyone have experience with Dachshunds?

I adopted a senior Dog, Toby (11)
    He is stubborn and shows some aggressive qualities. He growls when he is upset or forced to do something.
    I know this is his last chance so I want him to have a few more good years, but i also don't want him to bite someone and be liable.
    IMG_20161226_162950838.jpg
  • enyawd72
    Maker of Monsters!
    • Oct 1, 2009

We had two for years...a brother and sister named Hans and Heidi.

Hans was VERY grumpy all the time. He didn't like anyone trying to wake him up, coming near him while he was eating, etc. He would grumble and growl, but he never snapped or bit us.
    Heidi was as sweet as could be. They were complete opposites.

Comment

• thunderbolt
      Hi Ernie!!!
      • Feb 15, 2004

I've got a lot of experience with rescue dogs, and a little experience with a half a dachshund. As far as rescues go I've had a couple that were really difficult and you just have to dgive them time, they've been thru a lot and don't know you at all and also don't know if its going to happen again. The Cairn in my pic was a third time around dog and is the nicest guy but at first he was terrified of getting in the car, assuming he was afraid of getting dumped again. Now he's over it. I did have two aggressive Yorkies and they both eventually got a lot more trusting and less snappy. My Dachshund/Jack Russell mix was perfect from day one from the pound, just some odd quirks but not mean at all.
      You must try to generate happiness within yourself. If you aren't happy in one place, chances are you won't be happy anyplace. -Ernie Banks

Comment

• Hector
        el Hombre de Acero
        • May 19, 2003

High Five for adopting a senior dog...points out to your character, bravo.