Help support the Mego Museum
Help support the Mego Museum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Interesting lack of villains in pre-1977 action figures..

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • acrovader
    Career Member
    • Jan 19, 2011

Interesting lack of villains in pre-1977 action figures..

I started playing with action figures around the late 70s, right when the ubiquitous 3.75" figures started hitting the shelves. I have an older brother who had some of the 12" G.I. Joes, Evel Knevil, and Six Million Dollar Man toys that I really didn't play with much. What I find interesting is that there wasn't much in the way of villains in the pre-1977 toy lines (disregarding MEGO's Super Heroes and Star Trek and Space 1999 and POTA). I mean, Big Jim had a couple (?) towards the end of the run and the 12" Joes had diminutive 'Intruders'. I know Evel Knevil was a real guy, but no nemesis was created to go along with the line. I wonder what it would've been like to play with some of these before the days of Darth Vader and Baron Karza, etc. entered the scene. And even the 1980s toy lines were villain heavy (as compared to the decade before). That said, I always thought the bad guys usually made for some of the best action figures.
    I am more than machine. More than man. More than a fusion of the two.
  • Earth 2 Chris
    Verbose Member
    • Mar 7, 2004

I think the philosophy was kids would created their own play scenarios, so a "storyline" didn't have to be devised for them. Lines like G.I. Joe: RAH, MOTU, Transformers, etc. gave us nearly equal sides of good and evil and a fairly coherent backstory. The big bad was no doubt influenced by the success of Star Wars and the instantly iconic Darth Vader.

Chris
    sigpic

Comment

• Mikey
      Verbose Member
      • Aug 9, 2001

Johnny West had a few but you'd have to count the Indians --- which today they wouldn't be bad guys.