X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MRP
    Persistent Member
    • Jul 19, 2016

Making a custom card for Mattel Ming the Merciless

So I am totally new to customizing anything related to toys (I have painted rpg miniatures for years) and had no idea how/where to start. I decided to start with an action figure card when I bought a loose Ming the Merciless figure at the Ohio Toy and Comic show last month, and started on the process of creating my own card (not a repro of he original line but just my own design) and mounting the action figure on it.

This was totally an experiment and I had no expectations on the quality of the results, it was just an attempt to see what I could do and if I enjoyed doing things like this enough to pursue it further.

So I decided to start with a standard comic book backing board to use for the card and proceeded to pencil a Ming picture modelled ont he animated series...

so that the figure would fit on it like so...

Next I inked the figure and colored the letering inthe logo and the spot on the card where the figure would be mounted...

I was unsure what I wanted to use to color the card-I debated Doc Martin inks, colored pencils, or markers, but soon discovered the gloss finish on the backing board presented some problems and limited my options, so I ended up using a charcoal pencil for the card background and colored Sharpies for the figure and background ship/planet, however this left me with little ability to shade/gradiate colors or blend and left me without a real viable skin tone option for Ming, the results were less than spectacular for certain, but a lot was learned in the process...

and finally mounted the figure's case on he card simply using clear double sided tape...