X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • megoapesnut
    The name says it all!
    • Dec 3, 2007

Just bought a wood pellet grill

Holy Moly, if you are planning on purchasing a grill now that warm weather is here, you need to seriously consider a wood pellet grill. I have been using a really nice charcoal grill for many years now. I will never go back to regular old propane grills. I also have a very small portable infa-red grill, which is what all of the fine steak houses use. That's another story.

My charcoal grill was pretty much shot at the end of last year and a friend recommended a wood pellet grill. I waited until this year and checked them out. They are a tad pricey, but WOW! We grill out quite a bit during the warm weather and my family all RAVED about how this was the best food I have ever grilled. Everything was tender and juicy with NOTHING burned whatsoever. I had chicken, steaks, burgers and kabobs and we like everything well done with little to no pink inside, which is a challenge when grilling not to overcook and dry stuff out. NO MORE! This grill is the answer. And it does all of the work for you. You just keep the hopper on the side filled with wood pellets (I used mesquite) and turn on the switch. The grill has an auger that slowly feeds the pellets into the firepot and a super hot element that ignites them. It works by indirect heat using a convection type method. You still have to flip the food every now and then as the porcelain grate still is the hottest part of the grill, but no flames touch, or even come near the food, it moves the heat all around the inside of the grill. Turn the switch off when you are done and I was amazed how quickly it cooled down so I could stow in back in my shed. An hour later it was cool to the touch. My charcoal grill would be glowing rd hot for hours after I was done and I always worried that I would burn my shed down when I had to put it back too soon.