X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BradM
    • Aug 29, 2007

how prevalent are recards/fakes?

Hi everyone,

I've been collecting vintage Star Wars stuff for a while now, but have never ventured into buying carded figures because of the prevalence of recards, or re-glued bubbles, or even repro weapons and accessories.

I'm new to collecting Mego, and am wondering if this kind of thing is also prevalent in this community too. If indeed it is, how do you guys keep track of what's real and what's a fake?

Brad
  • palitoy
    live. laugh. lisa needs braces
    • Jun 16, 2001

Being a smaller group than the SW community we seem to have a good track record of distinguishing the sellers who are honest about reseals/reproductions from those who are not.

For the most part, folks are pretty up front about such things I find.

If you question either a piece or want to see if anyone vouches for a seller, bring it up here, that's what we're here for.
    Places to find PlaidStallions online: https://linktr.ee/Plaidstallions

Buy Toy-Ventures Magazine here:
    http://www.plaidstallions.com/reboot/shop

Comment

• English Paul
      Archive cased.
      • Aug 17, 2005

Most of the dodgy ebay deals get flagged up in `Auction Watch` so it is always worth checking in there as well. There has been a few sellers `outed` for trying to pass off stuff as original when a keen eye has spotted a fake.

Also note that some of us here on the forum allow our ebay names to be known (click the little ebay logo below the forum names to the left). Over time you will get to know who`s who here along with their ebay handles.

Welcome to the forums.
      "I should say I`m very much cleverer than any of the people who put me here. As a matter of fact, I could leave any time I wanted. It`s only a doll`s house after all. Anyway, I don`t mind. I like dolls" - The Mad Hatter, Arkham Asylum.

Comment

• batmanmc
        mego batman collector
        • Jun 22, 2004