X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Allyndn
    • Nov 23, 2009

Casting accessories/helmets

I'll admit I am new to this.

I've read tutorials on casting new heads and understand.

I am wondering about the process of making casts of accessories, especially helmets. I have some vintage items that I want to customize without destroying the original item. So, the hope is to make a mould of the original, cast it, then modify the copy (rather than the original item). I am especially interested in working with a few old helmets I have, but it seems like it would be really tricky to make a helmet which isn't solid inside. Does anyone have any experience with this or suggestions?
  • ctc
    Fear the monkeybat!
    • Aug 16, 2001

>Does anyone have any experience with this or suggestions?

Wow.... talk about starting with the hard stuff! Helmets are tricky 'cos they require big molds that are vented for thin objects. I've made some Micronaut/Microman helmets. I used three part molds for it. What helmets are you using?

Don C.

Comment

• AAAAA
      Permanent Member
      • Oct 28, 2005

I done combat helmets it best to use slicone rubber for the molds (even tho i use plaster and dental stone in the past)
      Rubber is the best when dealing with pilot helmets you might have to do a three part mold.

to do a 2 part mold