Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • vietnambob
    • Jun 4, 2007

The Future of Mego is it in jeopardy ?

I want to introduce myself my name is Robert Macchia, and I am NEW to this board,but spend some time reading all the posts, and the one with HULK presenting the "NEW" Mego Star Trek line (IN MY OPINION) at the New York Toy Fair does not sit well with me, NOT the fact that he did it, but more of the fact that someone is REPRODUCING Mego's.

Now I'm no expert on MEGO, but I do have a nice collection and just acquired my first Kid Flash from ebay (benbarb), and I have spent so much time and monies trying to complete my collection with original parts, but now what happens to that collection once I can purchase the same thing at the local toy store for $9.99

Please don't get me wrong I love Mego, and I believe that the next generation of Kids should grow and respect certain toys. I never destroyed or hurt or shot holes in my toys, and as anyone that has bought anything from me on Ebay (vietnambob Cheap plug) know that I take care of my property.

I am looking past the vast knowledge that people have here,BUT what if I don't know that the mego logo was 1/1000000 of an inch from the corner of the Blister, or the color of sunset magenta was the actual prototype used in mixing Ironmans's gloves on the 5th Sunday of December 1975?

I believe that its good for the NEW, but Not for the old...Whats your OPINION?
  • toys2cool
    Ultimate Mego Warrior
    • Nov 27, 2006

I think yeah it will make the originals lose value,but I think it's a great thing for those folks who can't afford the originals,not everyone could afford to spend $700+ on an Andorian moc,so this will help a lot of people.I do understand where you're coming from.I felt the same way when Hasbro started to reissue the vintage Joes,but hey that's the name of the game.If there's a market for something,there's always going to be reissues
    "Time to nut up or shut up" -Tallahassee