Help support the Mego Museum
Help support the Mego Museum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Teen Dies from Methyl Salicylate (in Ben Gay, etc.)

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • K
    Fun Will Now Commence
    • Jun 20, 2001

Teen Dies from Methyl Salicylate (in Ben Gay, etc.)

Hello, Everyone.

I meant to post this when I first read about it, but I didn't get around to it until now. Very interesting for all of us "of a certain age" ahem! who may have used Ben Gay, etc. at one time or another. This is chronic use, but still. I had no idea this could happen.

I LOVE CHEESECAKE!!!sigpic

"...and the Geeks shall inherit the earth."
  • Mikey
    Verbose Member
    • Aug 9, 2001

Well anything could be deadly if used too much of.

I'm sure even baby asprine could kill if a person took a real-real lot.

Comment

• Sideshow Spock
      valar morghulis
      • Mar 8, 2005

I've been using Ben Gay as a toothpaste for several years now. Accidentally grabbed the wrong tube after a bender one night, and developed a taste for it. Sounds like I better get off the stuff!

Comment

• Mikey
        Verbose Member
        • Aug 9, 2001

I bet she didn't have any boyfriends with her smelling like Ben Gay all the time

Comment

• toys2cool
          Ultimate Mego Warrior
          • Nov 27, 2006

wow that sucks
          "Time to nut up or shut up" -Tallahassee

http://ultimatewarriorcollection.webs.com/
          My stuff on facebook Incompatible Browser | Facebook

Comment

• Wee67
            Museum Correspondent
            • Apr 2, 2002

This happened in my market (Staten Island), so we covered the story. This girl ran track and was frustrated she couldn't lower her times. She was pushing her body and suffering the consquences. She had four times the acceptable amount of this stuff in her system. She must have been slathering this stuff on like moisterizer. Even then, it is HIGHLY unusual.

BTW, the same stuff exists in regular aspirin.