Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • FuzzyLOgic
    • Jan 20, 2012

3D Printing resources

I'm the proud owner of a new 3D printer, and I'd like to start using it on Mego customs. Is anyone aware of downloadable model files for things like heads or accessories that may be available? I'm no artist so creating my own from scratch would likely not yield good results.

If there are files out there, I could probably be talked into printing them for the community...
  • Boshek
    Veteran Member
    • Jun 26, 2011

I bet you are going to get a lot of people to talk you into it! Including me.

Gosh there is a figure's head that I have wanted shrunken down for a while now; the 6MDM Maskatron with and without mask. I was going to see if Staples could scan and print it. How does one scan it so it could be printed? Could the 13" head be shrunken down to our Mego 8"?
    Check out my YouTube page

Comment

• FuzzyLOgic
      • Jan 20, 2012

The problem is that scanning a 3D object requires a 3D scanner. The good ones are prohibitively expensive, and the cheap ones are low quality. There is an iPhone app that makes scans but not of small objects very well.

If the scan existed, it's easy enough to change the size. The trick is getting it in a 3D format.

Comment

• noelani72
        27inaleon
        • Jun 25, 2002

well, you’ll have to search a great many of my threads here. I was the first to bring 3D printing and 3D scanning to the boards. makerbot Rep2 and NextEngine scanner. I admit, I got quite butthurt after a while with people constantly saying, “I can see the lines”...became a household joke between me and my son (who’s Legend of Link here). But, we got the printer dialed in perfect, 2000 hours and going strong...100micron layers. Looking to buy a new printer than promises 50microns.